Home Page

Did You Know?
Chameleons have laterally compressed bodies. This enables them to warm up quickly by presenting a larger surface area to the sun. It also helps some chameleon species blend in among the similarly shaped leaves in their environment.
The chameleons tongue accelerates towards its target at over 1642m per second. Chameleons rarely miss their intended food item.
The word Bradypodion comes from the latin “bradus podos” or slow foot.
Pygmy chameleons are sometimes referred to as False Chameleons. This term is actually incorrect and is in reference to anoles, particularly the Cuban False Anole.
There are currently 202 recognized chameleon species and 85 of them are found on the island of Madagascar.
The oldest known chameleon fossil is from the extinct species Chamaeleo caroliquarti. It was found in Europe and is 26 million years old.
Chameleons have a very poor sense of smell.
The Trioceros goetzei (Goetze’s Chameleon) emits an audible, high pitched whistle when threatened.
The word Brookesia is named after the British naturalist Joshua Brookes.
Furcifer oustaleti (Oustalet’s Chameleon) is the longest chameleon species reaching lengths of 27 inches (68cm).


Enter Now   Vote Now

Featured Blog Entries

Trending Topics

Chameleon Care Resources

Forum statistics

Latest member
Top Bottom