need help????

Lorelye R

I am very new to keeping Chams and have recently aquired a female veiled. I have her in a 24x24x40 screen enclosure with uvb and uva bulbs. Her basking spot is 82 and cool side is at 70. when I first got her she looked a little plump and I was told she was 7 months old... within a couple days she was walking on the bottom of her enclosure. I went out and got an opaque container and filled it with playsand with peat moss mixed in - 12 inches deep. It is moist enough that I can dig in it and it stays without closing in. I have put a heat source under the enclosure so the sand isn't cold. I have covered 3 of the 4 sides to give her privacy.... She seemed really anxious yesterday and was constantly up and down to the container. Today she seems calmer, basking in the sun (it was rainy the past 2 days) now that it has clouded over she is hovering near the bottom of her enclosure close to the container. She is not eating as much as she should be. I think she has done a test hole... I just don't want her to become eggbound... Did I miss anything>????? any advice would be great.

Thank you sooooo much... Now maybe I can relax.... How long should I wait for her to lay the eggs??? I just don't want to wait out of inexperience and not get her to my vet in time.....

My female just laid at the weekend and it was her first clutch. She was restless and started digging around a bit in her bin at teatime on Wednesday. She dug a bit on Thursday and Friday, but really got down to business on Saturday morning. Sometimes they won't eat for anything up to 10 days before laying, but Amy ate a silkworm for breakfast and laid the same day! Amy has had a laying bin in her cage since she was 6 months old (she is now 21 months) and never really paid it much attention until Wednesday. Igf they know where it is they will get on and use it.