Liz the Lizard's Autopsy Photos *Questions* *Graphic!!*

Dave

Avid Member
I lost my oldest female veiled this morning. Did an autopsy and this is what I've found..

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    61.3 KB · Views: 661
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 2,312
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    21.6 KB · Views: 442
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    45.2 KB · Views: 821
  • 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 861
I'm not sure what the cause of death was. Obviously I don't see any eggs there, but what is that black? And can you see the wierd green nasty spot where her sternum is?

Attachments

• 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 527
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    21.2 KB · Views: 420
Looks like liver and pancreas or something similar. Open it up and see if it is dirt=impaction. If it is liquid/bile then it's normal.

Looks alright to me. Interesting, thanks for sharing, but it does suck she died. How old?

I'm no expert, but I've looked at many autopsies online and first, I believe the green spot is something that happens after many lizards die. I know with leopard geckos (who have very thin, nearly transparent, skin on their stomachs) a dark blackish spot always forms shortly after death, listen to someone else over me but I wouldn't think that the greenish spot is the cause of death.

Weird green nasty spots on the abdomen are very often reported in lizards that have died, Ive seen this alot. I beleive its a post death thing, I beleive in many cases its cause is a post death rupture of the duodenum.
Eitherway, according to my herp vet he sees it quite alot and its something that occures after death. The black though I have no idea.
Nasty but biologically fascinating pics.

So sorry you lost her! I found the pics fascinating (if a bit gruesome too). I didn't realise that their ribs are joined around the whole body. They are truly amazing creatures. Thank you for feeling strong enough to post the pics.