Early UV burn?

petertt

well lets get started with this to catch up with some of you..

https://www.chameleonforums.com/hi-guys-new-chameleons-24260/

so now, i have noticed that she is starting to get a grey color on her face, it is very very faint so far but from doing some reading on the net it couple turn into uv burn. no my question is this, can my bulb be too strong for my cage?

here is the bulb i am using ,

http://www.exo-terra.com/en/products/solar_glo.php

i have using the 160watt.
is there a difference how far the light is from the cham for uv absorption or it doesn't matter?

also can i reduce the time that the bulb is on? for example it is on for about 10 hours now, if i cut it but 2 to 3 hours will it harm him or it is safe to do this slowly?
here are some pictures and you guys can judge.

DSC_5313.jpg

DSC_5315.jpg

DSC_5317.jpg

I am no expert by any means. But you veiled looks great to me, it has some very nice color to it. Maybe its beginning to shed?

hmm, maybe but he still has skin on from his last shed, on his legs and tail:S

i did notice a little loss in appetite , but i saw him eating the soil, of my plants, i haven't repotted the plant yet , nor i plan to, iam going to put some rocks around the soil so he cant eat it any more, also is it normal for it wanting to leave the cage , seems like every time iam near the cage or open the door he wants out?

Him wanting out all the time could ethier be he likes you :D or its to hot in that cage. 160 watts sounds way to hot, i use a 60 watt for a basking temp of around 85-89 and it works great.

-Jared

Im guessing the reason she wants out is because she is receptive (you can tell by the colors) and that she is trying to find a mate.