Thank you all

BillH

I would like to thank you all for all the wonderful information that is contained here and the sharing of the vast amount of knowledge you all have.
To give a little background... I am an Animal Control Officer and have just become a foster parent of a veiled chameleon. If anyone is interested, the lady that owned her is facing numerous charges and several more now thanks to the information I have gathered here.

One question I do have is: Is there any way to tell the age of a veiled? She is about 4 inches from the tip of her nose to the base of her tail and almost two inches tall. The suspect is being very uncooperative and will not give us any info on any of the animals she had there so anything would be helpful.
Also… any tips anyone has would be greatly appreciated. I am hoping the Judge will grant me permanent custody of her.

Thank you all again for all the great info contained here!!!!!

Bill

Hi and welcome! Sounds like she's still only a baby, unless she has been so badly cared for that her growth has been stunted. Poor thing! This forum is a great place for everything chameleon! They are such wonderful creatures and so rewarding to keep - I am glad that her keeper will be charged. Good luck!

As for care tips, there is an article titled "Raising Kitty the Veiled Chameleon" on the forum that can tell you all about them. Also, some of the sponsor websites have great care info too, especially for a well known species like the veiled. This is the first time I've heard of animal control making use of a chameleon to document abuse/neglect. More power to you!! We are very glad to have you.

Welcome to the forum. Out of thousands of members you may be the only animal control officer. Isn't it nice to be special? But hey we are all special. we are chameleon owners and now so are you even if it is not the little veiled you will NEED to have a chameleon, trust me on this.:)