Temperament. Nature or nurture?

Justin18

Are chameleons temperament based off genetics or environment? Or a combination of both?

Since I got my Chameleon from my girlfriends parents I get to see my veiled's parents fairly often and I've noticed the mom is extremely friendly while the dad on the other hand is more of a grumpy old man, which leads me to believe temperament is based on genetics since those two chameleons are unrelated and the environmental part is exactly the same.

However, as a psychology major I've been taught many times that things like temperament are always a little bit of nature and nurture. Although psychology deals with humans and obviously chameleons aren't people.

So what are everybody's thoughts? Nature? Nurture? Or both?

I'm no expert. I know chameleons can get a little grumpy and give you temper when they're shedding. Also when they're hitting puberty. That's all I know. Hope this helps a little.

Well I know things like that lol I was more curious along the lines of what determines their temperament (personality). Not short term things that can cause them to get a temper or grumpy (emotions) :)

IMO its a little bit of both. Some chams are tolerant and others aren't. I've never met a neglected cham, so I can't really say as for how bad nurture affects temperament. But as for good nurture, it can totally affect a chameleon. Not in the same way it does a dog or bunny or cat or horse though.

Nurture does a whole lot. If you know how to work with a Chameleon then you can turn an aggressive animal around in anywhere from weeks to months. You can positively reinforce ”social” behavior with food and train them like you would other animals, condition them to some level of interaction. Maybe not to the point of where they reach out to you to be handled but to where they might come up to you for food vs. just running away hissing at the first sight of you.

Last edited: