Spliting a cage?

andy123

Hey,

As some of you may have seen a while back I got Bob a big cage due to the size of him, however he is the most laziest chameleon ive ever seen.
He walks to his food so its about an inch away and only ever moves around the cage at night when he wants to sleep. Ive tried putting new branches in, moving the cage around, using different food.

Have people ever split the cage down the middle (vertically) so the cage isnt as wide and maybe have another chameleon the other side? I've seen some adults kept in cages smaller then half of bobs cage is now?

If so how have you done it? do you use mesh or glass or wood?

Many thanks
Andy

You might check your temperatures and have him checked for parasites.

I'm new to chams, but when I first got my Jacksons, he seemed so lazy he was almost lethargic. I had ambient temps at 68-70F and basking at 84-86F. (He was also on hunger strike, but he was new and I know now that he doesn't handle change well.) I didn't originally think he was cold because he did not linger under his basking lamp, and according to everything I had read, the ambient temps seemed fine.

I did take him to the vet and had him treated for a parasite problem, which I am sure made him not feel well. I also bumped his ambient temps to 72-74F and that alone seemed to make a world of difference. Started eating like a horse and now he is incredibly active, especially during his morning territorial circuit.

The temperature thing would be an easy check - just raise the household temp for a few days and see if he perks up. Having a fecal done is probably just a good idea anyway if you haven't done it in a while (it was less than $20 for me). If he does decide to perk up, he's going to want every inch of that cage, so be sure everything is a-okay before you rent out half his apartment.