Silkworm Incubator

JaniP

Established Member
Hi everyone,

I've always only ever had one cham at a time so breeding my own bugs didn't really seem worth it.

I just put down a deposit on another boy, my first panther boy!

My veiled LOVES silks (as he should) and I think with the new guy coming in December, it will be worth it to try to raise my own silks.

I'm Canadian so I absolutely wouldn't get away without incubating. But silkworm eggs are the only feeders that I plan to raise myself because the rest of the feeders that my Wheatley eats are affordable in large quantities.

Anyway, I am looking for some small affordable incubator ideas. I am fine with making something myself (providing it's not a fire hazard, lol!). I have zero experience with hatching and incubating anything, so any advice would be helpful! If there is an existing thread with all the answers that someone could point me to, that would be amazing.

Thanks in advance!!

When I hatch my eggs I just put them in a small cardboard box with half the top flaps open and half closed to create a shade area. I use a Petri dish for the eggs and put it in the box under the shade area. Using a clamp light and a regular bulb I just set it over the top of the box making sure none of the eggs are in direct light / heat. I put a temp gauge in the box as well and make sure I keep my temps in the low 80's by moving the light closer or further away. I have only hatched about 1000 eggs so far but I have great results.

I order from coastal silks. In the 5-7 days it takes to get to me, half are hatched. So used that logic, keep them at 75-85F in a dark box in a closed petri dish, for a week.

Your silk eggs will hatch at normal room temperatures, you don't need an incubator.

When you order the eggs, make sure you tell the supplier you want to keep them in diapause so they send them overnight with a cold pack, or you have to hatch them all at once.