shaky and not eating very well

bjohnsey

My panther chameleon is shaky and is not eating very well or at all. He is still drinking plenty and does not appear to be suffering from dehydration. I am trying to subsitute some reptile food that I got from the vet for another chameleon that would not eat after shipping and he seems to have no problem drinking that in. I am confused as what I should do. Also I have been mixing a little calcium w/ D3 in with the reptile food in case thats what it is. Any suggestions?

bjohnsey, I'm not an expert by any means but our veiled had a similar experience a few weeks ago. I had moved some things in her cage and she just stressed over it for about three days then settled down and hasn't done it since. Did you move him or make any changes to his environment recently? Just a thought. Sometimes it's the simple things we ignore that are the answers. Keep us posted.

You don't want to give the d3 more than twice a month or so, you can overdose the d3, you want a phos free with no d3 at almost every feeding. Can you fill out this form so we can better help you
Here is some recommended information to include when asking for help in the health clinic forum. By providing this information, you will receive more accurate and beneficial responses. It might not be necessary to answer all these questions, but the more you provide the better. Please remember that even the most knowledgeable person can only guess at what your problem may be. Only an experienced reptile veterinarian who can directly examine your animal can give a true diagnosis of your chameleon's health.

Chameleon Info:
Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?