Need some reassurance.

Lollipopwatson

Hi.

I am new at this and am a bit concerned. We have had Lollipop, a male Vailed Chameleon, for 3 weeks. He is eating very well, about 6 to 8 Dubai and 5 crickets every 2 to 3 days. I dust his food every time I feed him with Exoterra calcium and multi vitamin. He gets misted 4 times a day. His day time temp 27 degrees c night time about 19 degrees c. He is less likely to hide now when we come to the cage. But he is always brownish colour. First thing in the morning he is Grey's with nice greens, then changes. Please take a look at pics and give me some advice. PS his head is also very white.
Regards Chris from South Africa.

Attachments

• 20240216_092845.jpg
    20240216_092845.jpg
    160.4 KB · Views: 15
  • 20240217_172402.jpg
    20240217_172402.jpg
    201.2 KB · Views: 14
  • 20240219_095455.jpg
    20240219_095455.jpg
    226.7 KB · Views: 15
  • 20240219_095506.jpg
    20240219_095506.jpg
    146.9 KB · Views: 14
  • 20240219_095605.jpg
    20240219_095605.jpg
    291.4 KB · Views: 14
Has he shed since being with you? It almost looks like he is going to shed. As for the supplements, routinely we use calcium without D3 every feeding and your multivitamin and D3 only 2x per month say the 1st and 15th. He could be getting too much vitamin as well.
Welcome to the forum!!! Lollipop is a handsome boy!!!

Hi and welcome! Generally chameleons will turn dark in order to better absorb heat and uvb. You could increase his temp a little up to around 29c during the day. What kind of UVB are you providing? What is the distance between his basking area and UVB?

Has he shed since being with you? It almost looks like he is going to shed. As for the supplements, routinely we use calcium without D3 every feeding and your multivitamin and D3 only 2x per month say the 1st and 15th. He could be getting too much vitamin as well.
Welcome to the forum!!! Lollipop is a handsome boy!!!