Not eating

bleudolphin

I have had my Jackson for a week now. I have not seen him eat, he has not pooped since I have had him. I have seen him drinking water. When I got him they said that he was eating 5 large cricket a day. I tried to get him to eat a wax worm to but he was not interested. He is sleeping alot. I have his cage around 83 to 85 in his basking area. He is pretty much staying on a branch in the middle. When I put him in his basking area he perks up for a bit then moves back to the middle branch. I am very new to Chameleons and am at a loss as to what to do. I have a red heat light in addition to his white basking light. It has been kind of cold here in Oregon, so I am using the red light to help maintain the temp. I am hoping to be able to get another white basking light soon.

Attachments

• Eko.jpg
    Eko.jpg
    185.9 KB · Views: 135
Have you offered crickets?
Have you contacted the original owner?
Post a photo of the full cage w/ details.
Can he escape the 85 degree heat? & into what temperatures?

I currently have him in a 18x18x24 all screen cage. There is a pic in my gallery. Yes the middle of the cage is around 78 and the bottom is much cooler. My husband is in the process of making a custom cage. Which will be about 4 times the size of the one it is currently in. I have been putting 5 crickets in each day. I had not been taking them out until a few days ago when I noticed that there was quite a few in there. I removed about 15. I am trying to get him to eat out of a cup so that I know who much he is eating. I called the pet store and they said they had no problem with him eating. However the lady that I talked to said that she had not actually seen him eat.

Has he been drinking for you? Have you been providing him several long (5+ minutes) misting sessions a day?

Do you have a uvb light with no glass or plastic barrier?