male/female sharing enclosure?

Tputtwhatwhat

Hello cham-forums community!

I am brand new to the hobby, and will be getting my first male panther in about 3 weeks. I have been doing a TON of research, but know it's always helpful to hear first hand experiences from handlers. My question is in regards to keeping a male and female in the same enclosure. I know that this topic is probably covered in other threads/web sites. But, I haven't been able to tell if it is only appropriate when trying to breed... or if many handlers have a male and female coupled full time?? thanks in advance for responses

p.s. I dont even have my cham yet, and I'm totally addicted to the hobby. gotta be one of the most exciting animals to keep. just stating the obvious, lol.

The reason you don't want them to see each other is because the male will keep showing off towards the female and if the female isn't receptive she will stress out trying to get away from him.

The reason you don't want them in the same cage together is because generally the female will be stressed out the entire time. If they are growing up, generally one will become dominant and get all the food, bully the other out of basking spots, and the non-dominant will generally slowly start to get in really bad shape.

Some chameleon species can be kept together in male-female groups, but not panthers.

If you are considering breeding chameleons, I would suggest keeping one for a while then doing a lot of research. It is very expensive and time consuming.

- On a side not, if you had a large room / free range / cage ranging from 10ft x 10ft x 10 ft you could probably keep them together if you had 2 basking spots and 2 feeding spots.