Live plants in habitat

BDallas

I’ve noticed that there are several chameleon owners that use live plants in their habitats which helps in several areas of the cham’s life. My question is and it could be a dumb question (I’m new to the chameleons myself) but, do you keep plants in a pot or just put a layer of substrate in the tank and allow the plants to grow naturally, also allowing any droppings to fertilize? I have a veiled cham that I throughly enjoy and want to keep him as happy as possible so naturally I would like to keep his habitat as natural as possible. Just looking for ideas or knowledge on the subject. Right now I have a potted plant in his cage and it is a safe plant for him to hang out in.
889EA199-C3E9-454A-B42B-78D1C03AE4EC.jpeg

I’ve noticed that there are several chameleon owners that use live plants in their habitats which helps in several areas of the cham’s life. My question is and it could be a dumb question (I’m new to the chameleons myself) but, do you keep plants in a pot or just put a layer of substrate in the tank and allow the plants to grow naturally, also allowing any droppings to fertilize? I have a veiled cham that I throughly enjoy and want to keep him as happy as possible so naturally I would like to keep his habitat as natural as possible. Just looking for ideas or knowledge on the subject. Right now I have a potted plant in his cage and it is a safe plant for him to hang out in.
View attachment 272714
Hi do you only have that one plant? veileds sometimes like take bites out of plants. Some people plant their plants inside their cage but you need a bioactive enclosure which means very specific dirt and cleaners etc. I just use potted plants. for plant types I use pothos, ficus, corn plant, and mini lemon