Is my female veiled ready to lay eggs? No symptoms but very fat

Djborx

Greetings everybody!
So I'm a newbie here. I got a female veiled 3 weeks ago. Everything is going fine and I think she has settled in quite alright.
In these three weeks she has grown a lot and she is getting really fat it seems. I'm well documented on the egg laying business and I have it all ready for her whenever she is ready. I'm slightly nervous because all the egg-binding drama I've been reading lately.
I have attached a couple of pics so you can see how fat she is getting. When I got her, I was under the impression that she was 5 months and therefore too young to lay eggs, but I think she might be ready. I put my hand next to her in the second pic so you can see how big she is in comparison.
Do you think she is old enough to lay eggs already?
Besides the chubbiness she is not showing any symptoms at all. She is not digging on the ground, she is eating extremely well (6 to 8 crickets a day dusted with the required vitamins/calcium and some fruit/vegetables) and her colour is the usual green.
Can anyone give me some advise please? Is she really older than 5 months? Am I jumping into conclusions too quickly and she is just fat? Or maybe she is not even that fat? I don't want to put her in the container with sand yet as it might be stressful and confusing for her if she is not ready...
Thank you so much, any advice is welcome!

Attachments

• IMG_5975.JPG
    IMG_5975.JPG
    245.2 KB · Views: 1,701
  • IMG_5979.JPG
    IMG_5979.JPG
    239.1 KB · Views: 330
It looks to me like she is indeed producing eggs. Chameleons can produce eggs as early as 4 months, though it is rare in captivity and certainly not recommended. That being said, she looks like she is plenty large enough to safely produce eggs.