I'd like to introduce myself

Dr O

Veterinarian
hello everyone!

i've been trolling for a looong time and just recently became more active in posting, and certainly hope that i continue to become more active in the community.

i'm a veterinarian who has practiced for about 15 years at this point. like most everyone here, i grew up with a snake in one hand and a frog in the other. so needless to say, i did as much exotic animal work as i could throughout my life and vet school. from swimming with beluga whales at Sea World, drawing blood from gators at Gatorland, ARAV conferences around the country, trekking the Peruvian Amazonian jungles in the middle of the night (trying not to get bitten by the fer-de-lances which were everywhere), helping Abaxis come out with their blood analyzers for reptiles by drawing blood from over 100 "2-step snakes" so they could have normal values for various species, and of course all of the medicine and surgery that i've done in practice. and a lifetime of critters passing though terrariums galore.......you know how it is!

anyhoo, a few years ago i was up in NY in my own practice when i was acutely struck with an exceedingly rare neurologic disease. long story short, i could not practice full-time veterinary medicine anymore; my body just couldn't handle it. so, my wife and i packed up, moved back to Florida, and here I will be teaching at a vet tech program, starting up a housecall herptile veterinary practice, and breeding chams!! hopefully, it should be less stressful on my body and i should be able to handle it all.