First Time Owner… Advice Needed!

sillylily

Hello all! I am planning on purchasing a chameleon later this August (2020) after I move into the apartment that I'll be getting, and would love any and all suggestions that you all might have! This will be the first cham I've ever owned, and I have been wanting one for about three years now! I am majoring in Fine Arts with a concentration in Sculpture (hopefully furniture design) and have sketched out some plans for a chameleon cage that I would like to hopefully build over the summer. I just want to make sure that I do it right so my lil' buddy can have a long and well-lived life…

I'm planning on making it some kind of corner piece so that it won't take up as much room when I move into my apartment. I would like to purchase some materials from Ikea to be the "skeleton" of my enclosure. The pieces I would purchase would be 5 posts (with holes in the sides to adjust the "shelves" of the enclosure), and about 5 or 6 shelf pieces to separate the cabinets I would like to include for extra storage, food, etc. ALSO I would be able to adjust the height for the appropriate room needed for when he/she starts to grow.

I guess my main questions would be:
1. Does this sound like a solid plan, and would I need to seal the wood with a protective finish of some sort?
2. I tried conceptualizing a drainage system for the bottom leaf layer that I would like to include, but I’m a little stumped on ideas/how I should go about building it.
3. Any suggestions for lights? I've done my fair share of research, I just don't want to buy too much/too little for the size of the finished enclosure.

If anyone has answers to the questions above/any more ideas in general, I would highly appreciate the feedback!

PS, I have no idea if the math/dimensions I have drawn out are right at all, AND I'm looking at purchasing a panther chameleon… probably should have mentioned that beforehand oops...

Thanks,
-Lily :)

Attachments