egg records......

Paul R

egg records...... whats the most eggs you had from a single cluch? a veiled was recorded with 123!!!!!

I was thinking about starting the same thread myself - You beat me to it! :D

My 14 month veiled (Lily) laid her first clutch of 103 eggs on December 23rd 08! :D

HA HA HA, THAT IS ALOT OF EGGS. mine lay on average within the 60 range.
those eggs are precious!!!!!!! incubate with care:D

why thankfully? Do you not want babies?

Lily is my first and only chameleon. I don't have room for more at the moment. 'Thankfully' was because I wouldn't have a clue where to start with 103 babies all at once!! I've no experience with baby chameleons - I got Lily when she was 6 months old. One or two would be nice maybe - but certainly not 103!!:D

HA HA HA, ok i see what you mean! Well if she is laying 103 eggs then get a male cause she will make an excellent breeder!!!!!

Took a couple of photos then binned them. :D They were definitely infertile as Lily has never been mated.

a004452de5.jpg

HA HA HA, ok i see what you mean! Well if she is laying 103 eggs then get a male cause she will make an excellent breeder!!!!!

I disagree.
clutches of this size take a tremendous toll on the animal and work should be done (adjusting husbandry) to try and reduce the clutch size in the future.
Conditions that promote too large of clutches are mostly ones that we associate with taking good care of the animal (ie: warm temps, a lot of food, etc.)
When the conditions are too good it can promote an unnaturally large clutch.

There may be a lot of eggs, but the female won't be around long enough to lay many of them.
I am one who is not in favor of working these girls like that.
Considering she is a pet, you should be aiming for no eggs.
I am sure you have read the article on keeping females here:

http://raisingkittytheveiledchameleon.blogspot.com/

-Brad