Earthworms?

fleetwoodchams

Are earthworms a menu item for chams? I have looked in the feeder list and did not see them. Anyone have experience with this?

Thanks

No answers about earthworms?
I have never given these as food to my chams but a friend from another site asked if they could be used as chameleon food
Said I didn't know and would ask.

I am no expert, but I do not offer earthworms, even for my chickens. I fear the parasites that the worms carry would then introduce the parasites to my chickens. That is the same reason I don't offer them to my chameleons. Hope that helps.

I am no expert, but I do not offer earthworms, even for my chickens. I fear the parasites that the worms carry would then introduce the parasites to my chickens. That is the same reason I don't offer them to my chameleons. Hope that helps.
Thanks
I have only ever given my chams commercial feeders. I fear parasites and you have just answered that question for me.

Take care

You can get earthworms off of commercial sites. don't know if they carry any parisites or not. something to check into.

I have seen mine eat them from fresh planted plants ( I re pot every new plant with my dirt )
the worms come out and they get them - but these are small " red wigglers" - not huge earthworms - but I dont feed them as a food item - but they do find a few- they seem to enjoy them - I feed alot of wild bugs - my chams live outside all summer, so even if I like it or not, they do get the wild bugs :) my fear in feeding them would not be the parasites, but more the slime a larger worm can produce , and choke the cham -

I have seen mine eat them from fresh planted plants ( I re pot every new plant with my dirt )