Dubia Problems

Yessabub

Established Member
Im new to dubias and im having problems first because i have the nymphs in with the colony that i feed crushed dog food i want to make sure there gutloaded well before i feed them. My problem is they wont eat the gutload at all i gutload with collard greens. I take 5 out the night before and put them in a small container with a small egg crate, water, and the gutload and in the morning when i feed spike the gutload is never even touched what do i do? also spike doesnt seem to be eating them as much if i put 5 in he will only eat 2 or 3 SOMEBODY HELP ME!!!!

For some reason my panthers don't like Dubias all that much either, but my veiled loves them. He is anyway - a veiled! Some chams don't like them as much as others.

Stop feeding spike the ones with dog food in their guts. They need to pass all that protein first. Try using oranges, bananas, carrots, and apples as gutload. They really like fruit.
Hope this helps,

Get a fine cheese grater and grate some carrots... I watched a video and saw some dubias go nuts for the carrots that were shaved..

I NEVER use dog food. I use the same thing for all my roaches as I do the crickets. My dubia love sliced apple and steamed butternut squash but they eat all the fruits and veggies that I put in there. I gutload them the night before feeding with a dry gutload that I get from my vet which is very similar to the Cricket Crack that you can buy from Steve here on the forums. Luie hates dubia.....he want touch them, however Camille will eat ANYTHING.

The grated carrot as mentioned above should work great.

Banana is always a winner! Any fruits they will pretty much devour! They are scavenegers after all!