wiring problem??

southflsti

I'm setting up some cages and having a problem with the lights. I went to home depot and picked up a T12 20 watt fixture. it didnt come with a cord so I also bought a extension cord. I got home and realized the cord was a two prong. so I wired it black to black, white to white, plugged it in with a reptisun 5 blub and it doesnt do anything. I thought maybe a bad bulb and exchanged it and still nothing. has anyone ran into the same problem or should I get a three wire cord and ground the housing???

the other problem I had was with zoo med heat bulb. I bought two, one worked one didnt. so I returned it, came home and tried the new one. as soon as I plugged it in it lit up and started smoking inside worked maybe 5 seconds then burned out!!! is this common with reptile bulbs or what, I asked the guy at petco if people return bulbs alot and he said no.

Dont wire things up yourself Unqualified! :D

bad_hair_day.jpg

lol. I'm a mechanic with ase certification in electrical. I also used to do building maintenance at an airport!! Wiring a cord to a fluorescent fixture should be simple but I haven't messed with 110v lately.

Most likely you have a bad fixture. You shouldn't need that stupid 3rd plug. I rip those out all the time with no ill effects. White to white black to black is what I would do, but this being AC it really doesn't matter. Positive and negative constantly swap on AC, hens the name "alternating current".

The 3rd plug is more of a safety device. It gives the current a better source for ground than your hand should there be a short.