Veiled Chameleon passed recently

mdross

I'm pretty new to chameleons, I had two and one just died. I wanted to know if anyone on this board has had a similar experience and could tell me why. I'd hate for it to be a mistake on my end and end up offing the other one.

Here's all the information about her set up:

Cage Info:
Cage Type - Cloth Mesh Cage ("Reptairium"), ~2ftx2ftx4ft
Lighting - one incandecent heat lamp, and one florescent UVA/UVB light. left on for ~ 12 hours a day. It is on an automatic timer.
Temperature - Basking spot is in the mid 90s, top of the cage is high to mid 80s, bottom is probably around 75-80' temperature at night is room temp ~75-76 degrees.
Humidity - Dont know an exact number. Leave dripper on top in mornings, mist cage in the afternoons when i get home from work.
Plants - All artificial plants one large container of potting soil for egg laying.
Location - high up in a bedroom. no fans or vents near by.

Chameleon Info:
Your Chameleon - Female Veiled, 1yr to 1.2yrs old
Feeding - Mainly a cricket diet. occational mealworms/superworms/waxworms. 10-15 crickets every morning. Gutloading crickets with fluckers cricket feed/orange cubes
Supplements - light coat of calcium dust every feeding.
Watering - dripper, or melting ice on top of cage. also spray in afternoons. see chameleon drinking but usually not right away.
Fecal Description - usually black with a spot of white. lately has looked a little runny. maybe a little more white than usual.
History - stopped eatting about 1 week ago. Was Gravid. Layed 10-15 eggs. She didn't actually dig a hole in the potting soil to lay her eggs. She just laid them on top of the soil.
Current Problem - When i got home from work today found the chamelon dead in the bottom of the cage. Chameleons colors were very pale, almost white. Large purple bruise on one side.

here is a picture of the bruise:
http://imageserver4.textamerica.com/user.images.x/95/IMG_513195/_0705/T520060705143719358.jpg