Veiled Chameleon help :)

irisgabrialle

I am new to having a chameleon and it would be amazing if I could have some help. He doesn’t eat the crickets when I let them free roam because they go hide under the bedding. And another weird thing he does is goes on the stick that’s at the bottom of the cage and then stays there and gets spots on him like he’s stressed out or something. But once I open the cage he is a little scared of me so he runs up to the top and then he turns back to normal green with no spots. His name is Kayo ☺️

Chameleon info:
  • Veiled chameleon, male, and age when I bought it they didn’t tell me how old he was so I called when I first got home and they said they get them from the ages 6-8 months so I don’t know the exact age. I’ve had him for 11 days.
  • He is shy. He usually never let me hand feed him but this morning he did let me.
  • Crickets are the only thing he eats. I have a small food bowl for him that I put the meal worms or grasshoppers but he won’t eat them. I’ve tried to spread them around his cage too but he still doesn’t eat them. I don’t have a schedule yet bc i’m so confused on how to do everything. I do not know how to or what type of stuff to use to git load the crickets.
  • Uses Zoo Med repti calcium and Zoo Med “Reptivite” reptile vitamins and I pour some of each in into a bag with a few crickets and then shake it up good. (i don’t have exact measurement)
  • I have a drip system, I poor water from my sink or poor water bottles in it. I mix that water with like 1 or 2 squirts of Reptisafe water conditioner by Zoo Med. I mist any time I see the humidity is low. I use warm water from my sink into spray bottle. I have seen him drink :)