Total Beginner

james 3200

Hi there,

The forum looks like the perfect place to start getting some information on keeping chameleons.

Have always loved the look of them and have decided to setup a home for one towards the end of the month.

From what i have seen the Yemen sp is a good starter, would you reccomend one, if not any others that i should consider?

I also have a number of planted fish tanks, and the idea of growing plants in the vivarium seems attractive, so would like to get some pointers on that too.

Would obviously need a whole setup for one, so could anyone point me in the right direction for what to get, as i have seen complete setups new, but i like to try and get a bargain and could probably piece the equipment together on ebay.

Budget is around £150 including a chameleon or two...?

Sorry if its a few questions, but would like to get as many honest opinions, as well as information from research im doing online.

Cheers,
James

With a budget of 150 I dont think the chameleon is your animal. I just bought 2 carpet chameleons and I already had most the supplies(enclosures, and lights) that I had extra, and it still cost me over 500 buying new supplies and plants and things. They are very expensive animals, and starting from scratch, a budget of more then 1000 is more like it.

searching is your best bet for info, rather than waiting for enough info being posted in responding.

you will prob need to double your budget, mine was £297 roughly for all the equipment, cham and the calcium + vits etc.

and start off with one first if you are really sure about getting one.
glass is best avoided if you can, may be ok for a baby/first few months, unless its a leaf/pygmy cham. and it needs GOOD ventilation