Recommendations for a Chameleon Novice

iriskai

Hello, all!

I am interested in eventually getting a Chameleon. I've owned leopard geckos and a milk snake (my sister's) so I am familiar with reptiles but the housing and such is ten fold different. I'll also am visiting a nearby reptile show on Sunday to hopefully talk with breeders and get information (I won't be bringing home a Cham this weekend!). There's no rush as there's a monthly expo near me. It's been great to find this forum and read through the old threads.

My question. What smaller species (Rudis size or smaller) would you all recommend? I've had trouble finding information on many other than the larger guys and the Pygmys. I'd like to stay on the smaller scale for space and initial cost purposes since I'm a college student (and already have a large flight cage for my lorikeet in my room) but most sites recommend the Panthers or Veileds to start out with.

Last reptile show I visited I spent a good amount of time talking with a breeder about the Rudis Chameleons and am fond of them. I think based on what information I've looked at so far I'm currently leaning towards a pair.

In regards to housing. What is preferred? Ideally I think I'd like to do a live planted terrarium. Are these difficult to maintain once set up? Would 20-30 gallons be suitable for a pair of Rudis if it had enough planted in it? Should I be looking for a single Cham instead? I need to research the best plants to use but how big of a deal are pesticides with reptiles? I know with my bird I use organic pesticide-free produce (50% of his diet) and everyting else since their systems are so sensitive but I haven't seen much said for Chameleons. UV light won't be a problem as I use UV bulbs already for the bird, though I still need to get the 'supplies'. I have an unused 10 gallon aquarium that I could use as a baby cage but I'll upgrade regardless to something larger/taller.