Please Answer quick

redfl83

Hi there i am in a panic as i got a cham & set up already fixed for me & he has been great for 2 months but my uvb is inside & now the last few days he has been lying beside it!!!
Can this burn him as it is still hot Luckily i am at home so when he has been going beside it i have been moving him away
Why would he be doing this?

I'm also a beginner, so I can't really offer much advice. But from what I know, the best course of action would be to check the temperature right at the light source. If it's hotter than the basking area, move the light to the outside of the cage.

I can't offer any information as to the reasons he may be doing this. You'll have to wait on one of the other more experienced members.

Oh, almost forgot, I would offer a little more info for the other guys. Cage info, light brand and power. I would also include other behavior patterns in the description as well, such as whether or not the animal stays there all day or moves around. Maybe even provide eating habits and colors. The more information you provide, the better advice will be offered. I learned that my first day here before I ever made a post.

i checked that the basking area thats 85ish & beside the uvb appears to just be 60ish so i can't understand why he is going near it now
Does the uvb work the same outsde the flexi?

I think placing the UV light outside the mesh will cut down the amount of UV in the enclosure, but not by much I don't think. Like I said before, the only reason I can think of is maybe mistaking it for a basking area. Is the area in front of the bulb more easily accessible?

i never keep lights inside the enclosure...id put it on the top...dont take any chances in burning him.

Also, what do you mean by "lying" next to?

Is there any way possible to include a pic of the cham lying in front of the light. Pics always help a ton. I think that's the easiest way to access the animal's health situation.