Oh no, not another noob...=)

Slackster

Hiya all...

Like you propably already figured, i am yet another noob here.

Short story first.
Me and the wife just moved to a bigger place and found ourselves with a corner of the living room unused so we began to talk about what to do with it.
After a bit of talking we agreed to put a terrarium there. Next thing was to determin what to put in the terrarium, since it's gonna be quite big ( 2.3ft deep about 6 ft wide and about 7 ft high ) theres gonna be room for more than one animal. Pretty soon we decieded that all of them should at least have legs. First we thought a waterdragon and maybe a Iguana, and "maybe a spider or two", my wife added. But now i had to put my foot down, you see, in my eyes spiders are the direct spawn of satan and does NOT belong in my home :eek: . Then we saw it.... An absolutely beatyful Panther chameleon. So there it is, the first inhabitant is gonna be a Panther chameleon.

Now, I have read qiute a bit around this forum and it's awesome but i have to ask a few things.

I read somewhere that you can't put two chameleons in the same terrarium, they will kill each other. Is that right? Or is it possible if it's big enough??
If not, is it possible to have another kind of reptile in there with the Chameleon? We dont want them to hate each other, after all they're gonna be neighbours :D.

You will not be able to put two chameleons in the same enclosure. Actually, you will not be able to put two of almost any kind of lizard, be it same species or no, in that size enclosure. You could possibly put two female Bearded dragons, or a small herd of crested geckos, but males of most species together is a no no. I am sure there are others, but chameleons are solitary animals, males will fight and kill each other, and if this is your first chameleon, you should not even be cohabbing females, as you do not have the experience to know what to look for as far as stress.