never had a reptile.. chameleon???

HenryChameleon

Hi! Total newbie and thinking of getting a pet for my son (well, really for me but dont tell the wife!) I keep fish and have a spare tank that I thougt of turning into a Viv (Please read on...) This is how all ideas start in my house resulting in major building work and £££'s being spent :)

Anyway - I think chameleon's are Uber cool, want something fairly easy and have never kept a reptile before.

I do keep a full living coral reef system which takes time, money and some degree of expertise, I have a full computerised setup with a total of 22 plugs connected to all types of implements to keep the whole thing ticking over - So I am not a complete bafoon with pets only having a gerbil when I was 7.

For the chameleon, I am thinking Yemen Chameleon, viv to be 48" long, 20" deep and 36" High. Custom Bulit for the job, Advice posts to follow!

Here are the basics that I am thinking, crickets every other day, some other mix of food and vits, steady temp, good ventilation, UV light and some humidity - Could I have a waterfall feature with maybe a fogger on a timer for a short time 4 times a day?

Keep the hand out of the Viv and watch these fascinating animals

Firstly - Should I stop being so silly, delete my account on here and stick to fish?

Secondly, Are these with a little reading actually quite easy to care for

And Finally - Am I somewhere near on the above? Any gotchas, things I really need to think about?

Well, they require attention daily, and with some reading you can do it. I wouldn't call them easy though... I would suggest making the viv higher, something like 48 inches would do for a male, ifyou want a female, 36 is fine. No waterfall, fogger is fine.