My Rudis had babies!!!

dondeb562

So my rudis pair delivered 10 babies on Tuesday. My question is, how do I keep the pin heads in the cage?!?! Should I take them ( the babies) all out and feed them in a seperate cage then put them back so I do not have pin heads all over my house? I have them in a little screen cage with a couple plants and branches. I have seen them all drinking and a couple start going for the crickets, but it seems as soon as I put the crickets in they all dissapear. Any suggestions?

Last edited:
maybe put them in a small glass cage till they eat bigger crickets? i dunno just a suggestion

pics pls =P

IMG_0786.jpg

IMG_0784.jpg

IMG_0781.jpg

Cute little buggers.
Why dont you cup feed them?
I would use 2 cups so all the babies arent feeding out of the same cup.
You can do fruit flies and pin heads like this.

I was thinking about that. How do you go about doing that? I have never done it before. I fear they will fall into the cup... Yes I am a very paranoid mom! lol! Same way with my humans kids! lol! So would I make a very shallow cup and hang it in the cage? I am getting fruit flies tomorrow. My reptile store was out. I was also told I could go catch afids (sp?) from the roses outside and try that too. Anyone ever tried them? I did not want todo it until I knew it was ok.
I can't get over how cute they are too! :)

No cup feeding!

If you are having problems with pinhead crickets escaping through the mesh of your cage, then get larger crickets. IE: 1/8" size. While rudis babies are small, they can eat that size of a cricket. Fruit flies are another good alternative feeder for small rudis. I use the larger Drosophila melanogaster over the hydei.

Another trick is to place a few slices of banana in the bottom of the cage. The crickets and FF's will naturally be attracted to the fruit and thus it will be easier for the rudis babies to eat them! It's a little mini feeding station as it were.