How to get a new baby to eat. Please help!

fubekka

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the whole chameleon raising thing, I just got my first baby chameleon in the mail this morning. He seems to like his new cage, and I've seen him drinking every time I mist him, but I can't seem to get him to eat. He's 2-3 months old, and so the crickets I bought at the local pet store might be a bit too big, but I just bought 500 1/4 crickets online. What are some strategies to get him to eat? The enclosure I have him in is temporary while my reptarium comes in the mail and it's not conducive to range feeding, so is a cup the best way? I've tried hand feeding him but he runs from my hand. Thanks in advance for your help!

Let him settle in

give him time to settle in, just put the crickets in the and leave him alone he will eat when is gets hungry. just dont stress him out by watching him.

Congrats! What kind of a chameleon did you get? How big is the enclosure? How hot are you keeping him?

Good method to "judge"...

A good way to "gage" appropriate cricket size it that they should be no larger than the space between your Chameleons eyes. If they are to big they may not eat them, plus it's not good....

But if they are the right size than like others have said just put them in and leave him... he will settle in and eat... he might not if your right there watching esp scine he is not yet had a chance to "settle in" with you.

Good luck.....;)

Congrats! What kind of a chameleon did you get? How big is the enclosure? How hot are you keeping him?

I got a little male veiled. The enclosure is a 30 gallon Exo Terra terrarium (I know it's bad for him, the Reptarium is already in the mail), and his basking spot varies between 85-95 degrees.

I got a little male veiled. The enclosure is a 30 gallon Exo Terra terrarium (I know it's bad for him, the Reptarium is already in the mail), and his basking spot varies between 85-95 degrees.

I believe thats too hot for a little guy!