How much handling is too much .

gohagan7535

Hello all! First wanted to say thank you for all the help that this forum has given me. You guys really know your stuff. I was wanting to know how often you should hold your cham. I have an Ambanja Panther Cham named Kobie and he is four months old. Will holding him make him more tame?

Ive kinda been wondering the same thing??? Im new to all this too. I read all kinds of things about how often to hold them....some say only when you are cleaning out the cage......I have been taking my ambi panther outside on a everyday basis to hangout on my porch on his plants. Which means i have been handeling him on a regular basis. He doesnt seemed to be stressed and is still eating and drinking. I would imagine it would be fine as long as you dont seem to make them mad when you take them out and you make sure that your hands are clean..........BUT like I said I am also new to all of this and I would def wait for a few seniors to answer you before you start holding him ALOT. ( My cham is around a year old, so I dont know ANYTHING about baby chams yet!)

Last edited:
They dont need to be handled according to everything I have read. I like to take mine outside to get some natural sun on nice days, so I handle mine a few times a week. He dosn't like being caught, and that stresses him, but once he is on my arm he calms down and is fine again.

In my opinion, anything beyond necessary moving to clean enclosures or taking the chameleon to it's outdoor enclosure ... checking the animal over for possible problems (every couple of months) is too much.
Chameleons here go for months at a time without being handled. They hand feed and are used to the people here. No one is too stressed while cages are being cleaned, etc.
No handling at all would be ideal for the health of the animal, but some is necessary ... maybe 6 to 8 times a year.

-Brad