How deep do your ladies dig?

Bradycham

Established Member
This is my first attempt at a non-montane chameleon. She is my one of my chamaeleo africanus. I have had all sorts of species lay eggs for me but most of them are only a few inches under the dirt. This little lady has dug all the way to the bottom of the small trash can in her enclosure. Which is 13 inches deep and she is trying to go further! Is this normal, is she confused? Like I said over the years I have only ever kept Montane chameleons, so these warmer climate chams are new to me. Video recording of her laying eggs as we speak! I will you tube it for everyone when she is done! Any advice is very much appreciated. Thanks.

My veileds always dig to the bottom of the bathroom trash can that their sand is in. It is about 10" deep.

Im sorry, I dont do females, I am absolutely no help to you.
but I read most have a min 12 inches deep which seems to be the norm.

But, this is only what I have read, I truly have no experience in this

My veileds always dig to the bottom of the bathroom trash can that their sand is in. It is about 10" deep.

Thanks Jan, your the perfect person for this queation since your chams are somewhat similar to what anyone here keeps aside from showjet. I also used a bathroom trashcan, mine is 13 inches. Does yours try to leep digging even though their at the bottom?

My laying bins are 12 inches deep and all my ladies dig to the very bottom usually in a corner.I found if i stick a fake fern in the sand and it makes them feel more secure to lay in the bin

Lily went all the way to the bottom 14 inches.

I realize in the wild they would dig deep to keep predators from finding them.

What I don't understand is how they expect those babies to dig their way out?

my veiled chameleon recently laid 53 infertile eggs in 6 inches of sand.

You are very luck that a veiled would lay in only 6 inches of sand. Most veileds are VERY picky.