Greens killed my roaches

pigglett79

Avid Member
Well, I made a big mistake and fed my roach colony with non-organic greens that clearly still had high levels of pesticides on them. They were fed late last night and this morning a large percent of my colony is dead. I normally feed them organic food only, but this short cut taught me a lesson. Also I will be changing my own diet, from partially organic to totally organic, as I don't want to eat food that can kill my roaches.

Roaches.jpg

Oh no!!! that freaked me out :(

I do wash all my greens before feeding, but that is just terrible, and scary!!!
Some pesticides can not simply be washed off, the chemical actually goes into the cells of the plant.

I used to be a bench chemist in a food lab.
One time we were doing pesticide residue analysis on apples, and we were looking for a control (something with no pesticides).
So I went to a "healthfood" store and bought some "organicly grown" apples.

When we did the analysis (using HPLC in this case) we found that the "organic" apples were loaded with pesticides!! not only that, but a few of the compounds we detected were illegal to use for apples in the US :eek:

I ended up using pureed baby food apples as a control :confused:

Awww that sucks big time. I normally don't feed too much fresh veggies just because of this, my colony gets mostly carrots and grapes which I wash thoroughly. I hope your colony rebounds soon.

Some pesticides can not simply be washed off, the chemical actually goes into the cells of the plant.

One time we were doing pesticide residue analysis on apples, and we were looking for a control (something with no pesticides).

When we did the analysis (using HPLC in this case) we found that the "organic" apples were loaded with pesticides!! not only that, but a few of the compounds we detected were illegal to use for apples in the US :eek: