Chameleon twisting and ‘yawning’?

My nearly 5 month old veiled chameleon seems to do this weird thing where she (when I am present and about to feed her or handle her) seems to do a ‘yawn’ and then twist and stretch her body, is that normal behaviour for a female juvenile veiled? Otherwise she’s eating great, no health problems and she’s o it started doing it in the last week or two.

Im not an expert, but I do know that chameleons do not yawn. They Weill open their mouths to regulate their temperature or gaping which could be a defensive mechanism.

Im not an expert, but I do know that chameleons do not yawn. They Weill open their mouths to regulate their temperature or gaping which could be a defensive mechanism.
Hey man, thanks for the fast response,
I’ve read some stuff in this forum describing similar movements as a yawn though?
Can anyone else chime in to confirm if this is a yawn or not?

What it sounds like to me is she is opening her mouth as a threat and twisting to better protect herself in the event that you try to eat her.

They actually will do a yawn... This is common in the mornings as the temps go up they will "yawn" and stretch along with puffing of their body. This is also common prior to a shed.

Gaping is when they just hold their mouth open for periods of time. This is an indicator that temps could be too warm. It is also how they regulate their body temps. It is also what they will do when they have a respiratory infection.

They will also open their mouth and flex to appear bigger if they feel they need to. If they are apprehensive of you in their enclosure or even you walk up to the cage. This is more of a defense mechanism.

So maybe try to get a picture if your concerned.

They actually will do a yawn... This is common in the mornings as the temps go up they will "yawn" and stretch along with puffing of their body. This is also common prior to a shed.