Blisters on his back?

TheHoff93

i am new to having a chameleon and have a roughly 12 month old veiled chameleon. the other day i noticed a small blister along his spine which looks like it has fluid in it. ive kept an eye on it and over the passed few days it has grown a little bit in size. the last time he shed was back in june. he has a partial shed on his casque. is the blister just the start of a shed? or should i be concerned? any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you.

i am new to having a chameleon and have a roughly 12 month old veiled chameleon. the other day i noticed a small blister along his spine which looks like it has fluid in it. ive kept an eye on it and over the passed few days it has grown a little bit in size. the last time he shed was back in june. he has a partial shed on his casque. is the blister just the start of a shed? or should i be concerned? any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you.

If it has fluid in it, it's not part of a normal shed. Could be a thermal burn or an infection. If he is starting a shed it should have opened and started peeling by now. If the area around the blister looks swollen or there is any pink or reddish areas, and if you do see fluid, its an infection and you need to treat it. Try a topical antibiotic cream such as Polysporin (without pain reliever), but if it continues to spread you will need a vet to look into it more.

thanks for the help. i will begin to treat it right now. i will post a picture soon to help with the diagnosis. his basking branch is approximately 7 or 8 inches from the heat bulb itself that that info helps.

a side view photo and a top view photo. hope these help.

Attachments

• ResizedImage_1341776553524.jpg
    ResizedImage_1341776553524.jpg
    269.3 KB · Views: 654
  • 2012-07-16_21-18-21_78-1.jpg
    2012-07-16_21-18-21_78-1.jpg
    246.4 KB · Views: 635
sorry the first picture was the wrong one. this is the correct one.

Attachments

• ResizedImage_1342488165045.jpg