Amount of food to order for a veiled?

wodesorel

Established Member
Could REALLY use some help with this! Math and computing things and planning in general has been hard since a double concussion this summer, and on top of that I'm still not sure how much my new veiled should be eating...

I've got a rescued adult female veiled with mild MBD who is currently at around 90 grams in weight. So, the goal is to up her calcium and then also her calories? (I don't even know what kind of weight I should be aiming for.) The only thing I can get locally is mealies, supers and crickets.

Ideally, if I wanted to get a fair amount in one order that won't go to waste, how much should I be getting? I can keep worms in the basement at around 60ish degrees. Definitely want to do calciworms. Maybe waxworms since she's underweight? Not sure if hornworms would be worth it this time of year? How much of her diet should still be crickets and/or supers?

I have no experience with ANY of these feeders and my worry is that they're going to get too big/die/pupate and there'll be too much going to waste, or that I'll short the order so bad without knowing any better I'll run out in a couple of weeks and it wouldn't be worth the shipping cost. Unfortunately cost is a factor so it needs to be planned out rather than experimented with.

Any advice is welcome! I've been trying to figure it out for a week and just keep giving myself headaches...

I would completely do away with mealworms if you are already feeding superworms, but both should be fed as treats. Crickets are great and easy to gut-load. Wax worms is basically fat and should only be fed as a treat or to fatten up an already thin chameleon. Variety is key here and I usually feed both soft and hard-bodied feeders. Those listed below are they low maintenance feeders.