Workin on it

whoswho

Hey everyone, my first post, and oddly enough my first cham. I had a question like most rookies do.

I'm trying to build my yemen cham, Dionysus, an outdoor enclosure and a new indoor. He's only about 2 months old, but i want to build them while i have time (and money).

Normally I have no problem building things, but I was wondering what to fill it with. I am a chef with my own organic veggie garden. I was wondering if i were to use organic soil instead of substrate if that would be ok for the cham.

I was actually going to transplant 2 or three collard green plants, and spinach at the base of the enclosure. I dont know what the effect would be if he were to get the soil in his body since their at the base and all...if anything i could hang them.

also what kind of material should i use for the sides? Simple mesh? or some nylon netting? I'm building a wooden framed enclosure that is 3 ft squared and about 4 feet tall minus the stand.

I'm also getting creative for his new indoors enclosure. I found an antique wooden file cabinet that im going to strip, and fill up with substrate and goodies all over. I'm still really new with all of this, but since i have skills in carpentry and gardening i might as well use them :) hopefully you guys might have some insight for me. sorry if i was a little scatter brained, but thanks in advance :)

Welcome to the forums!