Wax worms in Beehives

elizaann2

Chameleon Enthusiast
Hello Friends,

We just found a bunch of wax worms in our beehives. I am wondering if anyone here has experience using wax worms they have found in their beehives that could give me any advice. The hive was treated with oxylic acid last year, which is a treatment for hive mites. Does anyone know if these wax worms would be safe to feed to my chameleons?

Thanks!

Hello Friends,

We just found a bunch of wax worms in our beehives. I am wondering if anyone here has experience using wax worms they have found in their beehives that could give me any advice. The hive was treated with oxylic acid last year, which is a treatment for hive mites. Does anyone know if these wax worms would be safe to feed to my chameleons?

Thanks!
Please keep in mind who I am. I am still very new at all of this. However, my immediate thought is: stay away from anything related to bees from the wild.

My reasoning here is that it is widely believed (and almost impossible to not be true), that issues with bee populations have been due to insecticides. Bees travel. So I really think it's best to stay away from something like that unless you are specifically keeping your own bees, you know they aren't traveling / getting near any chemicals, and you know everything is safe. If those bees have been in contact with any chemicals, then chances are those wax worms are a risk. Just my thoughts/opinion!

ehhhhhhhh I do not know specifically. But not something I would risk. You do not know the exposure of the bees in the hive either... With everyone spraying plants that they feed from it is just not a risk I would take. Wax worms are cheap to buy just buy some that are bred for feeders.

The bees are ours kept in hives in our backyard, that is a VERY good point though, I didn't even think of the pesticides that the bees could have brought back from neighbors spraying their yard. Thanks @anderson4584 and @Beman ! We will just get rid of the wax worms.