Water and Chameleons

Gumball Machine

How much water do you all typically go through? Im just curious. Right now I have a mister that mists for 2 minutes every 2 hours. I live in southern California and it's pretty dry out here and that's about when all the leaves have dried off. I also have a little dripper that I fill half way in the morning and let that go until it's empty and again in the afternoon. I used to have it drip all day but I've recently changed that. I've never seen my Chameleon actually drink so I've been trying to make sure it is always available. (Water is always available for my dogs so I figured it should always be available for my Chameleon as well). I know she drinks because she looks well hydrated so I'm not particularly worried about it in that manner. Sometimes I think I catch her drinking but she sees me and stops (I've had her since the 7th of this month so yes, I'm a chameleon owner newbie and so far I love every bit of it. Loved em since I was in high school and I finally have the lifestyle that allows one in my life :) ) Ok, I'm asking this because I feel like I'm wasting A LOT of water. I have it nicely set up with the water draining into a bin and I'm just astounded by how many times I have to re-fill my gallon jugs. I buy my water at the 20-30 cent filtered glacier water stands because my condo's tap water has so much chlorine in it that it smells like a pool. I'm just wondering from those of you out there that have a steady, healthy system if this is normal? Or is it ok to limit the amount of water to certain times? Should I mist less? I would go for this option on my own if it weren't for my inability to actually CATCH her drinking. She's so sneaky about it. In fact, she's a true hunter. She won't eat any crickets in a feeding cup haha. She has a strong need to hunt! My little predator... astonishingly, she isn't shy so I don't know why she won't drink in front of me. She'll eat and she isn't shy when it comes to being handled. Sh