Vitamin C!!!

Ellron

Established Member
I know vitamin C is great for chams and people alike.
Now, my question is, can you use people Vit. C supplements instead of using citrus fruit?

I know it isn't natural, I just have some left over that the guniea pig I was watching didnt like.

I tried to feed the crickets some mashed up tablet and they ate it right away.

Do you guys think that the minute amount the crickets are getting actually makes a difference?

Good or bad?

I'm no expert, but I think vitamin C is pretty generic no matter what species. I think it should be fine, but probably won't make a large difference in your cham's vit. c intake.

Yes it does, he's articulating that since orange soda is made with oranges (vitamin c), it would be like only drinking that to fulfill your vitamin c needs. ex. your chameleon is eating vitamin c in small doses through crickets to meet his vitamin c needs.

yeah thanks, I tend to get abstract at times, especially right when I get home and start my afterwork smoke routine.

Thank you for clarifying that for me.

Yeah, I have to be all responsible at work all the time since I am a kitchen manager BUT. I work hard and play harder :) Ironically enough, I work at a brewpub here in WI but I am not much of a beer drinker :p

But orange soda is made with orange flavoring. It says it contains 100% natural flavors......
I doubt it has any Vit. C in it unless it is added.

These supplements would be used in addition to dusting and gutloading.
I just wanted to know if it would be safe or not.
This is PURE Vit. C.
Oranges contain 70 mg of Vitamin C for an average sized orange.
There are 500 mg of Vit. C per tablet.
I gave the crix one half tablet.
Thats 250 mgs.
They ingest half of it lets say, thats ingesting 125 mg.
The cham ingests half of that, at 62.5.
Half of that is destroyed in the digestive process, giving him 31.25 if he eats ALL the crickets that ate the vit. C tablet.