Veiled is on a diet!

filius_peter

Hello

My 5 month old male veiled hasnt been eating well. I give him crickets (1 inch) and mealworms but he doesnt eat them! I drop in a bunch of crickets into his terrarium and then i find that they are still there 5 days later. And a coupla times i saw him eating potting soil from the plant. This has been going on for some time. And today i noticed that his eyes are a bit sunken. Im not entirely sure and maybe im being paranoid but i think he has been hungry for some time.

What should I do? All the other conditions are okay. He has enough heat ( I have a 60 watt and a 40 watt lamp). He is active and alert. He is pooping as well, but mostly stringy stuff that looks like the potting soil. I think the problem is that he doesnt see the crickets because of the dense plants? I tried putting the crickets in a bowl where they couldnt jump out, but he didnt go for them either. Any suggestions on how to get my cham to eat more? Thanks

I am no expert but I think the 1" crickets are to large for a 5 month old, they should only be the size of the space between his eyes.
The plant should not have potting soil in it because it can harm him when he eats those white pieces in it, either remove the soil and replace it with top soil or place rocks over the soil that are large enough that he can't eat them.
He may be impacted from eating the potting soil and too large of crickets.
As for the sunken eyes, he is probally dehydrated, are you misting him and do you have a drip system?
What are the temperatures of his cage?
If you could post a picture of him as well as his cage I am sure some of the more experienced members on here could help you with more advice.
No matter how dense the cage is he will find the crickets if he wants to eat them.

Last edited:
I am going to guess its either one of two things …