Thoughts about WC

hey guys, i was just wondering what peoples general ideas and thoughts about buy/keeping/importing WC and the treatment they receive when imported. i think its good for people to discuss and think about these things. thanks!

p.s my ideas about this are fairly negative, personally i am fairly against buying something that someone picked of the tree and sells for a pet.

First, I have no experience with WC animals, so this is only opinion and not bolstered by data. I am in favor of captive bred if and when possible, but recognize some situations in which it may not be, or in which wild caught would be desirable. My understanding is that breeders will bring in wild caught animals to introduce/maintain genetic diversity to bloodlines; I have no need to buy a WC panther, but I can understand the value, particularly in the relatively uncommon locales, of bringing in "fresh blood". Also, some species are rarely or not available as CB, due to low interest, or poor understanding of husbandry. Pygmies can be captive bred, but many species produce low clutch size, and the prices I see on the commonest pygs (e.g. brevs) indicate that the pet store people have little incentive to spend the time and effort to captive breed. When I get my pygs (hopefully soon! - March should finally be warm enough to ship to Michigan), they will likely be WC, but I am hopeful of setting up a self-sustaining colony, with a few infusions of additional WC or, if I can get them, CB, specimens over the next few years to increase genetic diversity. I would not buy WC if I did not already have a good relationship with the dealer/importer, and know that the animals are being properly quarantined upon arrival, treated for parasites, and established in good health prior to sale.