SSD In Chameleons?

leid

Sexual Size Dimorphism is a common Reptilia trait. As of current, I am studying SSD in lizards indigenous to the Dominican Republic for my Honors Biology Research class at Avila University. I've noticed male and female chameleons vary in size as well, where females appear to be the smaller set. What are your thoughts on SSD? Why does it occur? I have one running hypothesis:

At the age of maturity, females invest more energy into sexual reproduction (as in the growing of yolked follicles, eggs, and clutches), while males are able to allocate their energy for size. But why? Any thoughts, opinions? My current answer to this question is jaw length/depth/width. I witnessed a chameleon mating session, and noticed the male clamping down on the neck of the female during mating. I'm wondering if this is a typical habit? If this is, it would be simple logic that the stronger and bigger the jaws, the more successful mating as it would hold the female in place, which would lead to more successful fertilization. The genes that would therefore pass on in the young would be for stronger, larger-jawed males..

Last edited:
The plus in length and in the weight helps also to rivals far away. And as you said when they are bigger it's easier to rape the females. That's normal for such animals.

Oh? That's interesting! What are some names of these species? I'd like to read about them.

It has less to do with the male/female interaction than the male/male interaction. It depends on the behavior. Some species, panthers veileds, etc. have strong dimorphism. Males can be many times the size of females. Some, cristatus, pygmies and others, the females are a bit bigger. Others, melleri, deremensis, some other horned species, the females may be larger, or the same size, but are usually bulkier.