Societal stigma around reptile and insect keepers

RedMountainHome

Established Member
I'm gonna rant a bit.

By most any account I'm a fairly successful person. I've got a good job, fun friends, a fantastic and supportive family, I earned a college degree while I was in the army, I pay my taxes, and I'll flatter myself by saying I'm a pretty stand-up kind of guy. However, when people hear that I've got pet reptiles, and god forbid that I keep tarantulas and a colony of roaches, I often get a slant-eyed glare as they assume that I'm some kind of degenerate!

I'm cool with the knowledge that some of my hobbies aren't for everyone, but it really gets under my skin when people assume they're just the idiosyncrasies of weird boys who never grew up. Like today at work, one coworker asked after some of my pets and an older co-worker made a comment along the lines of "No wonder he's not married, no woman would allow that in her home" :mad:

I don't know why there's this assumption that women are scared of "creepy crawlies". Hell, an ex girl friend of mine was the one who suggested I get my first tarantula and a starter colony of dubia to feed it! Just two weeks ago I sold a couple hundred of those roaches to a really nice college girl to feed her menagerie of exotic pets. MANY of the best reptile and insect / tarantula breeders are unapologetically female. Whenever I go to an exotic animal show I see a fairly even number of men and women selling their wares to a crowd that has many times more women than it has basement-dwellers wearing socks and sandals (no offense intended to said basement dwellers). I'm curious - do you ladies out there get served up similar bullshit when people find out what pets you keep?