Question about a new panther chameleon

danny_cham

Established Member
Hello! I’m new to chameleons, but not new to keeping reptiles. I was given a female panther chameleon that the previous owner could no longer care for and I’m doing my best to be informed and take the best care of her that I can!

When I first brought her home she sat on the bottom of the cage for hours before climbing up towards the heat lamp. The following days she didn’t move around much and usually day with her tail curled up. The previous owner only ever used a heat lamp, no basking lamp. I was told by the owner that the chameleon hated the bright light but I went and bought a 75 watt basking bulb anyways. A couple days ago I noticed she lost interest in crickets so I assumed she was bored and went to by a better variety. The store was unfortunately out of dubias.

I turned the basking light on for the first time today and she started acting very different. She basked for a while and age a worm and pooped. I had to briefly unplug the lamp to make some adjustments and she became restless. I turned it on again but the restless behavior continued. She’s been climbing along the screen and being much more active. She only ate a super worm, small waxworm, and a small mealworm today. She still has not shown any interest in crickets.

I opened her cage and placed a plant nearby for her to free roam, thinking she might need some space or that something was wrong. She briefly climbed up my arm before climbing the plant again. This is strange because she’s never even let me touch her. She’s begun sitting with her tail uncurled as well.
A3F46D84-D63A-4949-BF08-13F8F708B604.jpeg

Any idea what this behavior could be about?

Chameleon Info:
Panther
Female
name is Danny
I’ve had her for roughly a week.
The pet store didn’t know exactly how old she was. Estimated 1-2 years

Handling: