Parsons Chameleon long term thread

GrandJean

Established Member
Hi,

I am creating this thread to track a very long term project. And leave my experience as a guide for others long term, success and failures!

I have been keeping and raising reptiles for about 20 years, this will probably be my last project.

I have recently received a young pair of WC OE Parsonii, it is currently possible to get Them in Canada, I see more and more keepers posting them in forums. At 1400$ Per Chameleon, the good news is most keepers are serious hobbyist and they are in good hands. Hopefully in a few years we start seeing A CB community grow.

So for my part, over the next 10-15 years I wish create a breeding program. Big mission I know but passion is the force behind it.

With that said, here is where I am at today.

Enclosure:

pair is currently housed in a hybrid 8 x 6 x 4 cage ( i know I know , this is temporary while i build the second, I have already found a few things to change in the next one) it has 3 full sized trees in it and they cannot see each other when not basking. I am also monitoring with a webcam.

Temps and water:

There are 3 basking spots, 2 watering spots (big dripper at each end) and a full misting system with 4 nozzles. These guys drink a LOT

The UVB and heat comes from 3 160w powersuns outside of the cage. Sounds like a lot but I built the cage specifically with the right distances and made it so they can’t climb to the top and be upside-down right under. Current temps and calibrated UV meter measurements in basking area are 28 - 32 degrees depending on room temp, max UV is currently 5 on Ferguson zone, average is 1.5 in the middle where they hang out most of the day. When wandering on top part of the cage UV will vary from 2.0 to 5.0 depending on angles. I have always worked with MVB and that’s what I prefer.