Outdoor caging ?

JamesB88

Established Member
Just a few concerns about outdoor caging.

It's my first time bringing my veiled male outside, he's 8 months old and I don't want to stress him too much.

I have a great indoor setup so I'm using one of my older cages for his outdoor setup. His outdoor cage only contains one umbrella plant, and a couple basking branches I wanted to keep it simple since his indoor cage has all the bells and whistles.

My concern is tempurature change. I bring him outside on the weekends when I'm home and I leave him out for a good 4-6 hrs at a time. My concern is his indoor cage is around 75 degrees ambient with a basking of 90-92 F, when I bring him outside it's usually around 75-80 -90 F depending on the weather. Could bringing him outside and back in with the change in temp like that be an issue. I've only brought him outside the past 2 weekends including today right now and he seems be acting normal, eating fine etc....I just don't want him to get an uri due to change in temps or have any other issues due to being outside.

What should my main concerns be for keeping him outside?

Any pointers or tips on outdoor caging would be helpful as well. Thanks (y)

I put my cham in the shade when it gets to hot. I don't think you would have problems with URI but im not 100% sure about that. My main concern when taking my cham outside is people that my want to steal him or play with him, and birds sitting on his cage and scaring him. I haven't had any of those happen yet though.

Thanks for the input, and as far as people stealing my guy he's on my balcony second story up so if someone wanted to take him they'd have to scale the wall lol. And I've yet to see any birds that are interested in him hopefully they don't notice!

@JamesB88 A male veiled, correct?