New Owner with a few questions

fubekka

Hi everyone,

I'm new to these forums as well as to chameleon husbandry. Being as that this is my first time, and it seems that the internet is full of chameleon horror stories, I want to do everything in my power to take care of the new little guy. He's a 3 month old veiled from FLCHAMS and he's coming in the mail tomorrow.
First off, the Petsmart employee that I talked to sold me a glass exo terra terrarium that he said was perfect for chameleons. I only realized after that it was a mistake. I just ordered a 38 gallon reptarium online but it will take a week or so before it comes in the mail. Is it ok to keep the new baby in the glass enclosure for a week?
Second, do you have to purchase 3 different sizes of enclosures or can you buy the 260 gallon reptarium and modify it for use throughout it's lifecycle?
My third question is, what is the best watering system? From reading online it seems that spraying with a spray bottle will do the job for a lot less money than the humidifiers and other expensive watering equipment, and if so, for how long should you spray in the cage, can you spray the chameleon directly, and should you actually see him drinking?
Sorry for the wall of text, I would just rather get it right the first time. Thanks in advance!!

McKay

Welcome... please read...

Here are a few very important and helpful links containing lots of info you shoul read over.... best not to rely on "Petsore" advise if you want to have a happy healthy Chameleon.
https://www.chameleonforums.com/basic-husbandry-38769/
https://www.chameleonforums.com/general-care-true-chameleons-5943/

Good luck... Yes, you can mist with a hand held spray bottle... mist for a few minutes a few times a day... you may or may not see your Cham drink... this is normal as long as the poop looks good (dark w/white urtates on the end) then the hydration is good.