My veild chameleon won't open his eyes

tht1chamkid

I'm new to raising a chameleon and am very worried

My chameleon is a young male I got him January 8 2018
He is in an aquarium because I can not get a screen cage

Recently his bulb stopped producing heat and I didn't notice till I got home from school. I put in the backup one I had which is a red light.
Can him being cold cause him to not open his eyes?
He didn't eat today. Should I try to feed him again?
I misted him a bunch and saw on a different form that I need to mist him from what bounces off the wall
Every once in a while he will puff out his right eye but then bring it back in still closed

Please help

Why can't you get a screen cage? They are readily available online and affordable. I can provide you links if you need. Aquariums are very, very bad for chameleons. Aquariums are made for fish. Since chameleons are not fish, aquariums do not meet the requirements for a non-fish. There are better alternatives to aquariums if you absolutely must use glass for one reason or another.

Closed eyes is a sure sign that something is wrong. It is almost certainly not due to the temporary change in temperature. Please fill out the following form in its entirety and we will be able to offer you much better, more specific advice :)

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?
  • Supplements - What brand and type of calcium and vitamin products are you dusting your feeders with and what is the schedule?
  • Watering - What kind of watering technique do you use? How often and how long to you mist? Do you see your chameleon drinking?
  • Fecal Description - Briefly note colors and consistency from recent droppings. Has this chameleon ever been tested for parasites?