Mellers

Melma

I just bought a pair of Mellers Chameleon at a reptile show this morning. I have had a jackson chameleon before but i have no experience with this species.
I bought the pair with the cages and the lights, but as i was researching I found out that they need MUCH bigger cages. How big should I go?

another question, i payed 300 for the pair and the cages, was this a good deal?

Oh and, the male has been moving around a lot, while the female is just basking, why is this?

I added some pictures, i hope they work.

You need to scroll down when you add a posting to the place where it says manage pictures or attachments or something like that. That is where you add pictures.

Please post them if you can.

Those cages are WAY too small. and you shouldnt have substrate, you need more plants, no offense its just all wrong

thats how they were sold to me.

I guess I have to work on the cages ASAP and i just bought two hibiscus flower to put in the cages while i work on their new cages.

With everything that was included I think you paid a fair price.
However,
The enclosures are much too small and I'm wondering how the seller (with any confidence) was guaranteeing you purchased a male and female.
Were they surgically sexed?
Time to start your research:

http://www.melleridiscovery.com/index.html

and ... time to figure out some new accommodations for them.
You have taken on a huge husbandry project.

-Brad

Zoo med basking bulbs, the box claims it provides UVA rays.

I dont know much about this, but what is a free range cage? I think it would be best for me to turn most of my room into one of these, considering the size of these chameleons.

UVB lights are one of the most important things your chameleons are going to need. Did the seller not tell you that? And NO compacts like Brad said. And let me emphasize that if these guys are WC you will need fecals. Mellers, especially WC, are a tricky cham to contend with.