I'm New / Hello / Questions

Giselle

Hi all, I have been stalking for a while on here and have only just registered an account because I can’t see most of your pictures :p

My name is Giselle and I think I could be a chameleon-aholic. I have been doing lots of research on keeping them and I just wanted to throw my idea around to get some feedback.

I have been keeping green tree pythons for the last 3 years but I want something new so here I am.

I am looking at keeping veiled chams

Enclosure : Exo Terra Terrarium – 24 x 18 x 24 (l x w x h) Now I know most people sware by screen cages but I don’t want them. I have been using modified exo terra cages for my snakes with no hassle. Plus I like them, they are easy to clean (they are all drilled and have taps which lead into the garden for when I wash them out) and they will fit in with all my other cages. ;)

Lighting – 2 x T8 5.0 ub globe

Heat – I was trying to find the best source of globes, I personally prefer ceramics due to the fact they are long lasting but many people seem to lean towards basking lamps or house globes. Can I just use a ceramic that is on a thermostat or do they need a actual bright light source?

Internal habitat – I was thinking of setting it up just like my green tree pythons but with a lot more climbing space. I use a lot of plastic plants (I don’t own silk plants) and I am more than happy to purchase more. I also have lots of smaller braches that I used for my neonates (snakes).

I was hoping I could not bother with a dripping bottle but I have a spare exo terra monsoon that I can use. Would anyone still suggest a dripping system if I have a monsoon in place?

Substrate would be just some reptile carpet (I own lots of this stuff) suitable? or do they have little nails that could get caught in the loops of the carpet?

I will also add a live plant, so they can have that option too.